History of Building

The headquarters of Law Society of Ireland, the professional body for solicitors in the State, is in Blackhall Place, located in the heart of Dublin. As well as containing offices and accommodation, it is a venue for conferences, meetings, weddings and gala dinner events.

About the Law Society building

In 1671, a charitable school for boys of poor families was established, called the Hospital and Free School of King Charles II, Dublin. It became known as the King’s Hospital or Blue Coat School because of the boys’ military-style blue uniform.

The original school, built on a different site, was deemed to be in danger of collapsing by the early 1770s. Thomas Ivory, Master of the School of Architectural Drawing in the Dublin Society prepared a set of thirteen drawings in 1776 for a new design. The building was never finished to Ivory’s design.

In December 1783, the building was opened and the first boys moved into the school.

In 1894, the incomplete tower was removed and replaced by the present cupola. Blackhall Place remained the home of the Blue Coat School until 1968.

The building was acquired by the Law Society in 1971 and, having completed substantial renovations, it was opened as the headquarters of the solicitors’ profession in 1978.

The Chapel, now known as the Presidents’ Hall, has considerable distinction with its fine plasterwork of the Georgian period and was enhanced in the 20th century by the erection of a stained glass east window by the Irish artist, Evie Hone.

Catering queries

All expertise at Blackhall Place is provided by Fitzers Catering, who can offer unique catering for your event. For more information or to make a booking, contact us.

More about the Law Society