Law Society of Ireland announces the winners of the historic Justice Media Awards 2020

Court reporting entries earn significant praise.

The Law Society of Ireland has announced the winners of the 2020 Justice Media Awards, held online for the first time in the event’s 29 year history.

The top award was presented to Conor Gallagher of the Irish Times for his article “Ana Kriégel murder trial: the complete story”.

Winners were announced online this afternoon (Thursday 25 June 2020) for the first time ever, with 33 prizes presented across the categories.

“It is a historic moment for the Law Society to bring the Justice Media Awards online,” said Law Society of Ireland President Michele O’Boyle. “As our entry deadline approached in April, journalists and news rooms were working remotely across the country and still delivering essential news on a day-to-day basis. Even in these challenging circumstances, we still received an outstanding response across the spectrum of Irish journalism.”

“The Law Society would like to particularly commend the exceptionally high quality of court reporting entries for this year’s Awards, reflected in the fact that our Overall Award this year came from this category,” Ms O’Boyle highlighted.

“The enormous challenge of reporting on one of the State’s most disturbing murder trials, alongside the daily court reports from up and down the country that are so important for the administration of justice, have been recognised and rewarded in this year’s Justice Media Awards.”

Return to previous press releases