Gazette Editorial Board


The Law Society Gazette is a critical communications channel between the Law Society and its members. The magazine fulfils a crucial role in both informing and educating solicitors – as evidenced by the Law Society’s most recent survey of practitioners.

The Gazette’s goal is to provide relevant and comprehensive coverage of the most significant legal issues of the day – in a readable and attractive format. Its strong focus on legislative change is regarded as a priority information service, and our media continue to focus strongly on this vital support service.

  • The Gazette Editorial Board provides guidance and advice to the Gazette’s editorial team on potential articles and contributors. It is always conscious of the pressures that weigh on practitioners. As a result, readers are presented with accessible articles on matters of importance to daily practice.

  • The board meets approximately six times a year. Members comprise experienced and younger solicitors from a wide variety of practice areas. This mix is important, ensuring that the board functions effectively, and that a broad range of practice areas are covered by the Gazette magazine, its daily news service, and the weekly Gazette Digest.

  • The multi-award-winning magazine and online news service,, not only match, but on many occasions surpass, national media outlets with their timely and comprehensive coverage of the most significant legal news, with many stories being picked up by national and regional media outlets.

Members of the board include experienced and younger solicitors, with an equal balance of female and male members, who represent a wide variety of practice areas throughout the country. This mix is important for the proper functioning of the board, and ensures coverage of diverse practice matters in the magazine and on

Chair: Aisling Meehan  

Vice-Chair: Ken Casey


  • Richard Hammond SC

  • Sarah-Jane Clifford

  • Aoife Byrne

  • Justine Carty

  • Mairéad Cashman

  • Maura Derivan

  • Niall Geaney

  • Michael Kealey

  • Teri Kelly

  • Paul Lavery

  • Sonia McEntee

  • Heather Murphy

  • Andrew Sheridan

SecretaryMark McDermott

Email any queries to the Committee Secretary, Mark McDermott.