We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. Click OK to use our website.

Second annual Hibernian Law Medal recipients announced

04 Mar 2019 / Law Society Print

Second annual Hibernian Law Medal winners named

The second annual Hibernian Law Medal will be awarded jointly to Justice Catherine McGuinness, formerly of the Supreme Court, and Professor Mary McAleese (pictured above) 8th President of Ireland.

The award will be made at the Law Society on 29 March, and both recipients will deliver acceptance speeches. The evening will be chaired by Senator Ivana Bacik.

hibernian law medal

Legal journal

Established in 1999, the Hibernian Law Journal is the legal journal of the Law Society of Ireland and is edited by trainee and newly-qualified solicitors.

In May 2018, the journal made history in awarding the inaugural Hibernian Law Medal to former President of the UK Supreme Court Baron Neuberger of Abbotsbury, former Chief Justice of Canada Justice Beverley McLachlin, and former Irish Chief Justice Susan Denham.

The conferral ceremony was chaired by Chief Justice Frank Clarke.

Lifelong commitment

Journal editor Ciarán Donohue said this year’s recipients were chosen on the basis of “their lifelong commitment to social equality, reconciliation and the advancement of justice for all citizens, as well as their unwavering integrity in the fulfilment of their public offices.”


The ceremony will take place at 6.30pm at the Law Society, Blackhall Place, on Friday 29 March, with a drinks reception to follow.

Admission is free, but pre-registration is required at: events@hibernianlawjournal.com .

Further details on http://www.hibernianlawjournal.com/medal/

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland