We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Four Courts Consultation Rooms scoops award
Law Society staff Dolores Maguire, Lisa Gelston and Amy McDonnell with Gillian Cregan (Law Society director of finance and operations)

17 Jun 2024 / law society Print

Four Courts Consultation Rooms scoops award

The Law Society has scored a victory in this year’s 2024 Dye and Durham Irish Law Awards as its Four Courts Consultation Rooms scooped the Service Provider to the Legal Profession prize (14 June).

The Convention Centre, Dublin, hosted gala evening also saw Law Society Council member Keith Walsh SC honoured for his book on domestic violence, co-authored with Sonya Dixon, which won the Legal Book of the Year accolade.

Domestic Violence: Law and Practice in Ireland by Sonya Dixon and Keith Walsh was published to acclaim in February.

The award was presented by sponsor John Hogan of LegalBooks.ie.

Law Society Council member Aine Hynes SC was honoured with a Special Merit Award for her work in guiding the rollout of updated enduring powers of attorney (EPAs).  Aine Hynes SC said that it was a privilege to help the profession in this way.

Darren Lalor BL was also honoured with a Special Merit Award.

Mr Justice Michael White was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award, and said it was a great feeling to have his 49-year contribution to the law validated by the honour.

Overall winner

The overall award for Law Firm of the Year went to McCarthy + Co Solicitors LLP.

Lawyer of the Year overall winner was Aoife McCarthy (Douglas Law Solicitors LLP).

Lanigan Clarke LLP won the Civil Litigation Law Firm of the year at the event compered by Ivan Yates, while the Family Law Firm of the Year award went to Dillon Solicitors LLP.

Criminal Lawyer of the year was Pádraig Langsch and Employment Law Firm was O’Mara Geraghty McCourt.

Property Law Firm of the year was won by O’Connor O’Dea Binchy Solicitors LLP and Corporate/Commercial Law Team of the year was Dentons Ireland.

The Personal Injury/Medical Negligence Law Firm of the Year award went to HOMS Assist while In-House (non-civil service or public sector) Legal Team was Kellanova (formerly Kellogg’s).

Probate Law Firm of the year was Lavelle Partners LLP while the Irish Refugee Council won Pro Bono Public/Community Law Firm of the year.

Law School of the Year was the University of Galway while D&I Law Firm of the Year was Fitzsimons Redmond LLP.

The Law Firm Innovation Award went to Jacob Law while the Banking and Finance Legal Team was Allied Irish Banks.

Gemma Fuller was named Legal Executive of the Year, and Patrica Hickey (General Solicitor for Minors and Wards of Court) won Mental Health and Capacity Lawyer of the Year.

OSM partners won the Excellence and Innovation in Client Service Award while Dr Laura Cahillane of UL was named Legal Educator of the Year.

Public sector legal team

The Public Sector/Civil Service In House Legal Team award was won by the Chief State Solicitor’s Office (justice and crime section).

Byrne Wallace LLP won the Bid Manager Team of the Year award while Kieran Mulcahy Solicitors was honoured for Excellence in Communications.

Ciarán Mulholland of Mulholland Law won Sole Practitioner of the Year.

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland