We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Former PwC head named as IDA chair
Pic: RollingNews.ie

03 Jan 2024 / business Print

Former PwC head named as IDA chair

The former managing partner of PwC Feargal O’Rourke has been named as chair of IDA Ireland.

Appointed after a competition managed by the Public Appointments Service, he succeeds Frank Ryan, who served ten years in the role.

O’Rourke retired from PwC in October 2023 after 37 years with the professional-services firm – the last eight as managing partner.

He has worked in the area of foreign direct investment for almost all of his professional career, focusing mainly on companies from the west coast of the US setting up in Ireland and Europe.

New board members

During his time in PwC, he also led the tax practice, and was heavily involved in the OECD process of international tax reform.

Simon Coveney (Minister for Enterprise, Trade and Employment) has also appointed existing IDA board member Marian Corcoran as deputy chair.

Dr Leisha Daly and Dr Denis Doyle have also been appointed as board members after an open competition managed by the Public Appointments Service.

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland