We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

High Court judges assigned for Easter term

05 Apr 2024 / courts Print

High Court judges assigned for Easter term

The President of the High Court has assigned judges to oversee the court’s lists for the Easter term.

The term runs from 8 April to 16 May.

The judges assigned as ‘judge in charge’ are, as follows:

  • Mr Justice McDermott (Central Criminal Court, extradition, Criminal Assets Bureau, and bail),
  • Mr Justice Hunt (Special Criminal Court),
  • Mr Justice Coffey (personal injuries),
  • Ms Justice Hyland (non-jury/judicial review and asylum),
  • Mr Justice McDonald (commercial list, and the designated judge for admiralty matters),
  • Mr Justice Jordan (family list),
  • Mr Justice Owens (civil-jury list), and
  • Mr Justice Sanfey (chancery list).

Mr Justice David Barniville has also nominated the following judges:

  • President of the High Court (judge for the arbitration list, professional/disciplinary list, and the inherent jurisdiction [capacity] list),
  • Mr Justice Barrett (competition),
  • Mr Justice Humphreys (planning and environment),
  • Ms Justice Gearty (Hague- Luxembourg Convention),
  • Ms Justice Stack (probate),
  • Ms Justice Reynolds (Garda compensation),
  • Mr Justice Quinn, Ms Justice Roberts, and Mr Justice Mulcahy (judges assigned by the president to hear examinership matters),
  • Mr Justice Kennedy (bankruptcy),
  • Mr Justice Owens (personal insolvency, Criminal Assets Bureau), and
  • Mr Justice Simons (adjudication list for Construction Contracts Act 2013).
Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland