We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Sara Phelan SC is now Bar Council chair
Sara Phelan SC

13 Sep 2022 / courts Print

Sara Phelan SC is now Bar Council chair

Kilkenny native Sara Phelan SC is now chair of the Bar Council, a position she will hold until 11 September 2023.

Phelan specialises in personal injury law, child/family law, crime, judicial review/non-jury, chancery, probate and mental-health law, and works in Dublin as well as on the south-eastern circuit.

Denise Brett SC is now vice-chair of the Bar Council, while Séamus Clarke SC is the treasurer.

Other Inner Bar practitioners on the Bar Council are Mark J Dunne SC, Seán Guerin SC, Timothy Harley SC, Murray Johnson SC, Brendan Kirwan SC, Darren Lehane SC, and Seán Ó hUallacháin SC.

Qualified as pharmacist

Sara Phelan was called to the Bar in 1996. She previously qualified and practised as a pharmacist after graduating from Trinity College Dublin in 1988.

She was appointed senior counsel and called to the Inner Bar in 2013, and was admitted to the Bar of England and Wales in 2019.

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland