We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Strictly necessary cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
ASP.NET_SessionId Session This cookie holds the current session id (OPPassessment only)
.ASPXANONYMOUS 2 Months Authentication to the site
LSI 1 Year To remember cookie preference for Law Society websites (www.lawsociety.ie, www.legalvacancies.ie, www.gazette.ie)
FTGServer 1 Hour Website content ( /CSS , /JS, /img )
_ga 2 Years Google Analytics
_gat Session Google Analytics
_git 1 Day Google Analytics
AptifyCSRFCookie Session Aptify CSRF Cookie
CSRFDefenseInDepthToken Session Aptify defence cookie
EB5Cookie Session Aptify eb5 login cookie

Functional cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
Zendesk Local Storage Online Support
platform.twitter.com Local Storage Integrated Twitter feed

Marketing cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
fr 3 Months Facebook Advertising - Used for Facebook Marketing
_fbp 3 months Used for facebook Marketing
Five new High Court judges nominated

16 Sep 2021 / courts Print

Five new High Court judges nominated

The Government has agreed to nominate several new judges for appointment – including five for the High Court.

The Government had committed itself to appointing the new High Court judges, to deal with anticipated pressure on the courts because of COVID-19 restrictions.

The five judges to be appointed to the High Court – all senior counsel – are:

  • Caroline Biggs,
  • Marguerite Bolger,
  • Emily Egan,
  • Cian Ferriter, and
  • David Holland.

In addition, solicitor Patricia Cronin was nominated to the District Court, and District Court judge Alan Mitchell was nominated to the Special Criminal Court.

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland