We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Future of Media Commission members named
Pic: Shutterstock

30 Sep 2020 / ireland Print

Media commission members are named

The Government has agreed the terms of reference and membership of the Future of Media Commission.

The body will examine how public service objectives can be funded in a way that is sustainable, ensures independent editorial oversight and delivers value for money.

The Commission will be chaired by Professor Brian MacCraith, former President of Dublin City University (DCU), and will also include experts in public service media, independent journalism, social media, new technology platforms, media economics, culture, language, creative content, governance and international best practice.

Strong structure 'critical'

Taoiseach Micheál Martin TD said the Commission would chart a pathway for public service broadcasting and independent media into the future.

“A strong, independent media structure is critical for Ireland’s cultural, sporting, creative and political life,” he said.

“People rely on newspapers, TV, radio and online platforms to find out about local and national issues, to inform them about current affairs, to showcase our culture, to reach out to our diaspora, and to bring the nation together at times of national celebration and reflection.

“Irish media outlets have always reflected the core principles of objectivity and independence, and at a time when disinformation is on the rise, sustainable and impartial journalism has never been more important,” he said.


Professor Brian MacCraith said he was looking forward to a very important public policy challenge, that is important for the “quality and wellbeing of our shared society.”

Members of the Future of Media Commission:

  • Chair Professor Brian MacCraith, former President of Dublin City University (DCU),
  • Sinéad Burke, Director of Tilting the Lens, writer and academic active in social media, and member of the Council of State,
  • Alan Rusbridger, chair of the steering committee of the Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism at the University of Oxford, and former Editor-in-Chief of Guardian News and Media,
  • Lynette Fay, freelance broadcaster (broadcasting as Gaeilge and in English on BBC Radio Ulster) with an academic background in applied communications,
  • Nuala O’Connor, co-founder of South Wind Blows, writer and documentary filmmaker in the areas of music and the arts,
  • Gillian Doyle, Professor of Media Economics (Theatre, Film and Television Studies), University of Glasgow,
  • Mark Little, co-founder of Kinzen,
  • Stephen McNamara, Director of Communications, Irish Rugby Football Union (IRFU),
  • Dr Finola Doyle-O’Neill, broadcast historian, University College Cork.
Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland