We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Strictly necessary cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
ASP.NET_SessionId Session This cookie holds the current session id (OPPassessment only)
.ASPXANONYMOUS 2 Months Authentication to the site
LSI 1 Year To remember cookie preference for Law Society websites (www.lawsociety.ie, www.legalvacancies.ie, www.gazette.ie)
FTGServer 1 Hour Website content ( /CSS , /JS, /img )
_ga 2 Years Google Analytics
_gat Session Google Analytics
_git 1 Day Google Analytics
AptifyCSRFCookie Session Aptify CSRF Cookie
CSRFDefenseInDepthToken Session Aptify defence cookie
EB5Cookie Session Aptify eb5 login cookie

Functional cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
Zendesk Local Storage Online Support
platform.twitter.com Local Storage Integrated Twitter feed

Marketing cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
fr 3 Months Facebook Advertising - Used for Facebook Marketing
_fbp 3 months Used for facebook Marketing
Twelve solicitors to be granted patents of precedence
Solicitor and new senior counsel Geoffrey Shannon

15 Jun 2021 / Law Society Print

12 solicitors granted patents of precedence

The Government has approved the granting of patents of precedence to the following solicitors and barristers:


Raymond Bradley (Malcomson Law, Dublin), Geraldine Clarke (Gleeson McGrath Baldwin LLP, Dublin), Nicola Dunleavy (Matheson, Dublin), Alison Fanagan (A&L Goodbody LLP, Dublin), Larry Fenelon (Leman Solicitors LLP, Dublin), Stuart Gilhooly (HJ Ward & Co Solicitors LLP, Dublin), Damien Keogh (DKA Solicitors, Dublin), Conor Linehan (William Fry, Dublin), Rachel Minch (Philip Lee, Dublin), Geoffrey Shannon (Law Society of Ireland, Dublin), Helen Sheehy (Helen Sheehy & Co, Dublin), and Keith Walsh (Keith Walsh Solicitors, Dublin). 


William Abrahamson, Ray Boland, Conor Bourke, John Byrne, Dermot Cahill, Oisín Collins, Ruth Fitzgerald, Robert Fitzpatrick, Tom Flynn, Ted Harding, Ronan Lupton, Elizabeth Maguire, James McGowan, Barra McGrory, Brian McInerney, Yvonne McNamara, Seamus McNeill, Suzanne Murray, Tom O'Malley, Aillil O'Reilly, Philipp Rahn, Cathy Smith, Fintan Valentine, Andrew Walker, and Carsten Zatschler.

Grant of patents of precedence

Patents of precedence are granted under the terms of the Legal Services Regulation Act 2015 by the Government, on the advice of the Advisory Committee on the grant of patents of precedence.  

The Advisory Committee consists of the Chief Justice, the President of the Court of Appeal, the President of the High Court, the Attorney General, the Chair of the Bar Council, the President of the Law Society and a lay member of the Legal Services Regulatory Authority nominated by the Minister for Justice.

President of the Law Society James Cahill, said today: “We are proud to congratulate our colleagues who have demonstrated the necessary skills, knowledge and experience to become senior counsel, including former Presidents of the Law Society, Stuart Gilhooly and Geraldine Clarke, and Deputy Director of Education at the Law Society, Dr Geoffrey Shannon.”

Unique perspective 

“Solicitors have a unique perspective that they can bring to the role of senior counsel and we are pleased that the many contributions of our profession to the legal system and administration of justice are once again recognised,” he continued.

“We are particularly encouraged to see a greater number of female solicitors being granted the designation of senior counsel this year and we look forward to this trend continuing in the coming years.

Inclusive profession

"The Law Society hopes these appointments and examples of leadership will pave the way for a more inclusive and balanced legal profession, which reflects modern Irish society,” he said.

New senior counsel Larry Fenelon of Leman Solicitors told Gazette.ie that he was delighted for his colleagues who had received their patents of precedence.

"This sets a new standard for the profession, particularly for litigators," Fenelon said this morning.

This is the second time in the history of the State that solicitors could apply for Patents of Precedence. These solicitors join just 17 other solicitors who were granted the patents of precedence in 2020.


Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland