We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Council of Europe assembly to vote today
Judge Síofra O’Leary speaking at the launch of the ECtHR's 2023 report (Pic: European Court of Human Rights)

16 Apr 2024 / human rights Print

Council of Europe assembly ECtHR vote today

The Parliamentary Assembly of the 46-nation Council of Europe is voting today to elect Ireland’s new judge at the European Court of Human Rights (ECtHR), to replace outgoing President Síofra O’Leary.

The Assembly will vote on the three candidates today, during its spring plenary session, with a possible second round of voting tomorrow should no candidate receive more than 50% of the votes cast today.

The Irish candidates are:


The result should be known mid- to late-afternoon today or tomorrow, depending on whether there is a second round of voting.

The ECtHR country factsheet on Ireland shows the annual level of applications to the court.

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland