We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Applications open for Arthur Cox Niamh Burke memorial bursary

25 Jan 2023 / education Print

Applications open for Niamh Burke bursary

Applications are now open for the Arthur Cox Niamh Burke memorial bursary, which will award a total of €10,000 to students pursuing studies linked to climate action and renewable energy in Ireland.

The bursary was established in memory of former Arthur Cox partner Niamh Burke, who played a significant role in the development of the Irish wind-energy sector, and advised on some of Ireland’s largest energy, infrastructure, and construction projects.

All relevant disciplines are open for consideration – including law, economics, engineering, policy, science, planning, and others.

It is open to students planning to study in these, or related fields, in Ireland at postgraduate level in 2023. If more than one person is selected, the bursary monies will be split between the successful applicants.

Alex McLean (head of energy group) said: “We are very pleased to continue providing this bursary in memory of our colleague Niamh Burke. Ireland has the potential to be at the forefront of the energy transition, and we want to support the next generation who are working towards a carbon-neutral future.”


The bursary was launched in 2020, and has already helped six people with their studies. It is funded by Arthur Cox and Niamh’s family and is administered by Wind Energy Ireland.

Previous recipients have used the bursary to study at University College Dublin, Trinity College Dublin, NUI Galway, University College Cork, Dublin City University, and the Law Society of Ireland.

Candidates can apply for the bursary until Thursday 2 March at 5pm at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/Bur2023

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland