We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Reporter Conor Gallagher honoured at Law Society Justice Media Awards
Reporter Conor Gallagher pictured at home with his awards

25 Jun 2020 / law society Print

Gallagher scoops two Justice Media Awards

The winners of the Law Society 2020 Justice Media Awards were announced this afternoon.

The awards were held online for the first time in the event’s 29-year history with 33 prizes presented across the categories.

The overall award was presented to Conor Gallagher of the Irish Times for his article “Ana Kriégel murder trial: the complete story”.

“It is a historic moment for the Law Society to bring the Justice Media Awards online,” said Law Society President Michele O’Boyle.

Outstanding response

“As our entry deadline approached in April, journalists and news rooms were working remotely across the country and still delivering essential news on a day-to-day basis. Even in these challenging circumstances, we still received an outstanding response across the spectrum of Irish journalism.” 

“The Law Society would like to particularly commend the exceptionally high quality of court reporting entries for this year’s Awards, reflected in the fact that our Overall Award this year came from this category,” President O’Boyle said.

“The enormous challenge of reporting on one of the State’s most disturbing murder trials, alongside the daily court reports from up and down the country that are so important for the administration of justice, have been recognised and rewarded in this year’s Justice Media Awards.”


The award categories are:

  • Print/online journalism (daily) 
Francesca Comyn (The Currency): Law in a Golden Age,
  • Print/online journalism (Sunday) 
 Mark Tighe (The Sunday Times): Delaney’s Own Goal,
  • Print/online journalism (local) 
 Ann Murphy (The Echo): Sex for Rent,
  • Broadcast journalism (radio/podcast – national) 
 Andrea Gilligan (Newstalk): The Law and Anonymity,
  • Broadcast journalism (radio/podcast – local) 
No prize awarded,
  • Broadcast journalism (TV/video) 
 Kathleen Harris (The Irish Times): The push for same-sex marriage and abortion rights in Northern Ireland,
  • Court reporting (print/online): 
 Conor Gallagher (The Irish Times): Ana Kriégel murder trial: The complete story ,
  • Court reporting (broadcast):
 Frank Greaney (Newstalk): Unravelling Boy B's lies,
  • Human rights/social justice reporting: 
 Michael Clifford (Irish Examiner): Deaths in Irish Prisons,
  • International justice reporting:
 No prize awarded,
  • Newcomer of the year: Dominic McGrath (The Journal.ie).
Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland