We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

EU offers visa exemption to British citizens post-exit

02 Feb 2019 / law Print

EU offers visa exemption to British citizens post-exit

EU ambassadors have agreed that, post-Brexit, British citizens coming to the Schengen area for a short stay will be granted visa-free travel.

The exemption will cover a 90-day travel period in any 180 days.

EU ambassadors on Friday (1 February) mandated the EU Council presidency to begin negotiations with the European Parliament on the legislative proposal.

According to EU rules, visa exemption is granted on condition of reciprocity.

The British Government has already declared that it will exempt EU citizens from visa requirement if they are travelling to Britain for short stays.


Visa policy towards third-country citizens travelling to the Schengen area for a short stay is regulated under EU legislation.

If Britain introduces a visa requirement for nationals of at least one member state in the future, the existing reciprocity mechanism would apply.

Existing rules include all third-country nationals under one of two lists: nationals of third countries either requiring a visa, or exempt.

Following Brexit, as a third country, Britain would need to appear under one of these two lists.

Gazette Desk
Gazette.ie is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland