Arthur Cox partner named Port of Waterford director
Des Whelan, Derry O’Sullivan, William Johnston and Frank Ronan

07 Mar 2019 / business Print

Arthur Cox partner named Port of Waterford director

Former Arthur Cox partner William Johnston has been appointed a director of the Port of Waterford.

The move follows a competitive process managed by the Public Appointments Service.

William Johnston, together with chartered engineer and former Roadstone director Derry O’Sullivan, will join existing board members Joe Dreelan, Louise Grubb, John Kehoe, Mary Mosse, chief executive Frank Ronan and chairman Des Whelan.

Johnston recently retired as a partner with Arthur Cox, where he specialised in banking law, capital markets and regulation.

Business Law Committee

A board member at the National Maternity Hospital and the Housing Finance Agency, he is a former chair of the Law Society’s Business Law Committee, and former co-chair of the Banking Law Division at the International Bar Association.

Port of Waterford chair Des Whelan said: “Both William and Derry are experienced senior professionals who bring a wealth of relevant business experience to the board.

“We look forward to working alongside them and drawing on their in-depth knowledge from the legal and engineering worlds respectively, as well as tapping into the fresh insights they will bring.” 


Gazette Desk is the daily legal news site of the Law Society of Ireland