Meet the team

Policy and Law Reform is driven by the elected President and Council of the Law Society.

Team members

The team also comprises the Society's Director General, Deputy Director General and Committees, as well as dedicated staff who help to execute the objectives of this function.

President Michele O'Boyle

Patrick Dorgan- President of Law Society

In November 2019, Michele O'Boyle was appointed President of the Law Society of Ireland for 2019/2020. Each year, the President of the Law Society announces key priorities for their year in office. women in leadership, Brexit, and supporting smaller firms are Ms O'Boyle's main focuses for the next 12 months..

Read more about Michele O'Boyle

Read more about the Law Society Council


Director General - Ken Murphy

Ken Murphy, Director GeneralAs Director General, Ken Murphy frequently acts as spokesman for the Society in the media and he has represented the Society before Dáil Committees and as a Society nominee on Ministerial Working Groups.

Read more about Ken Murphy



Deputy Director General & Director of Policy and Public Affairs - Mary Keane

Mary Keane, Deputy Director GeneralMary Keane oversees the Policy Committees and co-ordination of the Society’s policy output.

See details of the Policy and Public Affairs Department's operational plan




Policy Committees

Our policy committees are comprised of volunteer solicitors across Ireland who help to shape the Society’s law reform agenda by providing submissions to Government relating to a range of legal areas.

Providing expert opinion and perspective on policies impacting on practitioners and their clients, each of the Committees are supported by Committee Secretaries who are proficient in the particular legal discipline.

Public Affairs Manager

Fiona Cullen manages both public and Government affairs on behalf of the Law Society and works with the team to deliver the objectives of this function. Contact Fiona.

Strategy & Reports

Annual Reports & Accounts

Strategy Statement