We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage to improve and customise your experience, where applicable. View our Cookies Policy. Click Accept and continue to use our website or Manage to review and update your preferences.

Strictly necessary cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
ASP.NET_SessionId Session This cookie holds the current session id (OPPassessment only)
.ASPXANONYMOUS 2 Months Authentication to the site
LSI 1 Year To remember cookie preference for Law Society websites (www.lawsociety.ie, www.legalvacancies.ie, www.gazette.ie)
FTGServer 1 Hour Website content ( /CSS , /JS, /img )
_ga 2 Years Google Analytics
_gat Session Google Analytics
_git 1 Day Google Analytics
AptifyCSRFCookie Session Aptify CSRF Cookie
CSRFDefenseInDepthToken Session Aptify defence cookie
EB5Cookie Session Aptify eb5 login cookie

Functional cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
Zendesk Local Storage Online Support
platform.twitter.com Local Storage Integrated Twitter feed

Marketing cookies

Cookie name Duration Cookie purpose
fr 3 Months Facebook Advertising - Used for Facebook Marketing
_fbp 3 months Used for facebook Marketing

Money Laundering Reporting

Back to Committees

Role of the Committee

The Money Laundering Reporting Committee is part of the regulatory function of the Society and meets on a regular basis throughout the committee year. 

The committee’s statutory remit is to report any suspicions that money laundering or an offence of financing terrorism has been committed by a practising solicitor or any other person who the Society, in the course of monitoring solicitors, suspects has been engaged in such activities to the authorities. It also deals with reporting any information it knows or believes might be of material assistance in preventing the commission of a relevant offence pursuant to the provisions of Section 19 of the Criminal Justice Act, 2011 or securing the apprehension, prosecution or conviction of a person for such a relevant offence, to An Garda Síochána.

The Committee carries out its functions in accordance with published Rules of Procedure.

Members & Secretary

Chair: Martin Crotty


  • Frank Bowen
  • Chris Callan
  • Brendan Cunningham
  • John Elliot
  • Frank Mee
  • James Murphy
  • Dara Robinson

Secretary: Tina Beattie