The Council

The Law Society is governed by a Council, comprising elected and nominated members of the profession. The purpose of the Council is identified in the Charter of 1852 as “for the better rule and government of the Society, and for the better direction and management of the concerns thereof”. The statutory functions of the Society, as set out in the Solicitors Acts 1954 to 2008, are exercised by the Council or by Committees to which the Council delegates those statutory functions. The Council represents the Society and its members both in the interests of the public and of the solicitors’ profession generally.

Composition of the Council

The Council comprises 35 solicitor members elected by the membership throughout the country and 13 nominated members from the Law Society of Northern Ireland, the Dublin Solicitors Bar Association and the Southern Law Association. Past Presidents are entitled to attend Council meetings for three years following their year of Presidency.

Fifty per cent of the elected Council are required to retire annually and elections are held to fill the vacancies arising, with successful candidates serving for a two-year period. The nominated members of the Council are appointed on an annual basis. View a list of current Council members.

Functions of the Council

Under the Solicitors Acts, “the functions vested in the Society by or under this Act shall be performed by the Council”.  These  functions can be divided into three broad categories:

  1. Education and admission
  2. Regulation and discipline, and
  3. Protection of clients


The Act provides that the Council may appoint a Committee for any purpose which the Council believes would be better effected by means of a Committee and may delegate, with or without restrictions, the exercise of the functions of the Council.  This has been done by the Council in relation to a variety of matters, e.g. Education, Finance, Professional Indemnity Insurance, Regulation of Practice and Complaints and Client Relations.

The Council has also appointed committees to monitor and advise its members on best practice in a range of legal areas, eg arbitration, conveyancing, family law, litigation, taxation, probate etc.

Members of the Law Society can login to the members' area to access more information on issues worked on by the various committees and related resources.  

The President and Vice-Presidents

Under its legislative framework, the Council of the Society is empowered to elect a President and Vice-Presidents from among the Council members elected in the annual national election. This is done at the Council meeting immediately following on the Annual General Meeting in November of each year. Officers serve for a period of one year.

Council of the Law Society - for the year ending 7th November, 2014

President: John P. Shaw


Senior: Kevin O'Higgins
Junior: Michael Quinlan

William Aylmer
James Cahill
Bernadette Cahill
Christopher Callan
Justine Carty
Maura Derivan
Patrick Dorgan
Paul Egan
Alan Gannon
Stuart Gilhooly
Eamon Harrington
Paul Keane
Aisling Kelly
Liam A. Kennedy

David Lavelle
Martin G. Lawlor
Barry MacCarthy
James McCourt
Sonia McEntee
Simon J. Murphy
Michelle Ní Longáin
Michele O'Boyle
Daniel O'Connor
Gerard O’ Donnell
Deirdre O'Sullivan
Valerie Peart
Catherine Tarrant
Brendan J. Twomey

Past Presidents
Donald P. Binchy
John E. Costello
Gerard J. Doherty
James MacGuill
Moya Quinlan
John D. Shaw

Provincial Delegates

Leinster: Andrew J. Cody
Munster: Richard Hammond
Ulster: Garry Clarke
Connaught: David Higgins

Dublin Solicitors Bar Association Representatives
John Glynn 
Aine Hynes
Eamonn Shannon

Southern Law Association Representatives
Brendan Cunningham
Mary C. Keane
Jonathan Lynch
Shane McCarthy
Peter Groarke

Law Society of Northern Ireland Representatives
Arleen Elliott
Imelda McMillan
Richard Palmer
Michael Robinson
Brian Speers

Back to top

Legal Vacancies